ClubWhisky.com Forum - Questions About Whisky  

Go Back   ClubWhisky.com Forum - Questions About Whisky > All About Whisky! > Single Malt Scotch Whisky

Old 01-21-2013, 11:30 PM

Default Single Malt Storage

Hello, this is my first time posting on these forums so I hope that I am placing this thread in the correct place. I have two questions for single malt scotch experts.

First, with a little back story. My apartment went under extreme renovations this summer and I because of that I asked my brother to house my single malt collection at his house for approximately 2 months (September and October). During the transportation from my place to his (approximately 30 minutes) he stored the bottles sideways. Now, He told me that he stored them up right in his basement for the 2 month duration, but I am curious what possible, if any, issues could arise if they were stored sideways? I only ask this because 3 of the bottles were Port Ellens, 2 were Balvenie and Glenfiddich single casks / vintage reserves, one a Laphroaig 15 signed by the distillery's malt master, and a Talisker 30. The other bottles were nothing of special note. All bottles were sealed and in their boxes. When renovations were done I inspected each bottle checking for any floating objects, none were found. Any insight would be greatly appreciated as this aspect of single malts is new to me.

Second, in regards to the Glenfiddich 1977 Vintage Cask. While inspecting it, I noticed some light brown sediment (best description I can give) in a small area at the bottom of the bottle. I was going to lightly tilt the bottle upside down and right side down a few times but decided against it until I got some learned advice. I truly hope that this is nothing peculiar as I have done some research saying older bottles of Scotch Whisky can have a small amount of sediment.

Thank you very much for your consideration and time reading my post.
Old 01-22-2013, 12:24 AM
Administrator & Owner ClubWhisky.com