ClubWhisky.com Forum - Questions About Whisky  

Go Back   ClubWhisky.com Forum - Questions About Whisky > All About Whisky! > Single Malt Scotch Whisky

Old 11-28-2015, 09:16 PM

Default What Should I Try Next?

Hi all,

This is my first post!

I'm relatively new to the scotch world. Can you help me pick a scotch to try next:

Things I like: caramel, honey, hint of smoke, candied citrus and dark fruits, hint of spice, red fruit, phenolic

Thinks I don't like at present: earthy, big smoke, astringent, overpowering spice, roughness, cask strength products.

I've tried a variety of entry level stuff, and been intrigued.
Old 11-28-2015, 11:51 PM
ClubWhisky.com Member

Greetings and welcome!

The descriptors given are helpful, but if you're willing to list a few specific whiskies you've tasted, both that you liked and didn't like, such information would be beneficial in aiding any suggestions we may have.
Old 11-29-2015, 06:33 AM

Hi & welcome.
Yes it would be helpful to know what you've tried and what you thought of them.
Sounds like you might prefer the 40% alcohol by volume offerings for the time being anyway.

I'm currently enjoying a bottle of Bunnahabhain 12 (quite flavorful to me). I believe it would be a good match to your want descriptions. It's 46.3% abv though.
Aberlour 12 might be one for you (I get hints of licorice in it), or possibly one of my favs, Balvenie DoubleWood 12. Both these are unpeated though.
I really liked the Springbank 10 which is a 46%er. I think earthy might be a good descriptor for it though and it's got a good dose of peat.

Last edited by BoxcarBill; 11-29-2015 at 06:38 AM.
Old 11-29-2015, 11:53 AM
ClubWhisky.com Moderator

I'd agree with Bill that you should search out the Bunnahabhain 12, or better yet, if price is not an issue the 18. There are a few whiskies where I don't care for the 12, but like the 18. When it comes to Bunnahabhain, I like them both, especially the 18.